Galgorm Castle News

Campbell wins Apeer Doors

- Posted on: 20/09/2021 - $itemValue.title

Image credit: Kevin Markham

The Apeer Doors sponsored Stableford competition was played at Galgorm Castle Golf Club with victory going to James Campbell playing off twenty six. Three players – Fintan McLarnon (4), Paul Steenson (13) and James McClintock (13) finished together two points behind. Steenson, McLarnon and McClintock were leading by a point over Beechers but a bogey from Campbell, par by McLarnon, bogey by McClintock and a bogey by Steenson and all four players were level through the Grove with two to play. Campbell parred the Lowlands to take a one point lead over McClintock with McLarnon (par) and Steenson (bogey) another point behind. Campbell bogeyed the last and increased his lead to Win Overall by two points from McLarnon (par), Steenson (par) and McClintock (bogey) with Steenson the Overall Runner-up with a better back six. 

In Division 1 at halfway Fintan McLarnon (4) was leading by two, three and four points respectively from Matthew Harkness (2), Cameron Lappin (5) and Jordan McGaw (6). Through fourteen McLarnon was leading by three points from Lappin and McGaw with Harkness ('ding' at eleven) another point behind. After parring Beechers and the Grove McLarnon was still leading by three points from Lappin (two pars) and Gaw (two pars) followed by Harkness (par, birdie) a further point behind. McLarnon parred the last two holes to win by two points from Gaw (two pars). Lappin (bogey, par) and Harkness (par, birdie) were another point behind and with a better back nine third place went to Lappin. Michael Reid (-4) won the Gross.

At halfway in Division 2 James McClintock (13) and Gary Wilkins (11) were vying for the lead a point ahead of James Mairs (12). Thomas McNeill (10) was another point behind followed by Ian McCully (12) and Michael McAuley (12) a further two and three points respectively down. Through The Maple McClintock and Wilkins were still leading with McNeill closing to within a point and McCully another two points behind. Mairs and McAuley were a further point away. Approaching the Lowlands, after a run of two pars and a bogey at the Grove, McClintock held a three point advantage over Wilkins (three bogeys). McNeill (bogey, par, bogey) and McCully (two pars and a bogey) were another point behind followed by Mairs (two pars and a bogey) and McAuley (two pars and a bogey) a further point back. James McClintock parred the Lowlands and bogeyed the last to win by three points from McCully (two pars). Third place went to McNeill (double bogey, birdie) another point behind. A further point down McAuley (birdie, 'ding'), Mairs (birdie, 'ding') and Wilkins (bogey, 'ding') finished together. Did the last three 'dings' make any difference to the final positions? James Logan (13) won the Seniors.

In Division 3 after the front nine Ian Stewart (17) held a slender one point advantage over Ryan Wiggins (17) and Lyle Foster (14) with David Millar (16) another point behind. Craig Dean (17) and Mark Wiggins (19) were a further two and four points respectively behind. Through The Maple Stewart was still holding his one point advantage over Ryan Wiggins and Foster. A further two points back came Millar followed by Mark Wiggins and Dean another point down. Over Beechers Stewart (bogey, par, bogey) was joined in the lead by Foster (bogey, birdie, bogey) a point ahead of R.Wiggins (par and two bogeys). A further two points behind came M.Wiggins (par, bogey, p;ar), Dean (birdie, par, double bogey) and Millar (par, par, double bogey). Foster's chance of victory disappeared after a double bogey at the Lowlands and a 'ding' at the last. Stewart finished par, double bogey to win by one point from R.Wiggins (double bogey, par) in second place. A very close finish ensued for third place when M.Wiggins (par, double bogey), Dean (two bogeys), Millar (double bogey, par) and Foster finished level and with a better back nine third place went to M.Wiggins.

At the start of the back nine in Division 4 Michael Burton (20) was a point ahead of Damien Agnew (20) with James O'Shea (21) another point behind. Kevin Devlin (24) was a further four points back. Burton and Agnew were level through fourteen, two points ahead of O'Shea followed by Devlin another three points behind. Over Beechers and up the Grove Agnew, after a bogey and double bogey, was leading by a point from Burton (bogey, 'ding'). Two points further back came Devlin (par, bogey) followed by O'Shea (double bogey, 'ding') another point behind. In another close finish O'Shea (two pars), Agnew (two double bogeys) and Burton (bogey, double bogey) finished together but were unable to hold off Devlin with a par, bogey finish to win by one point. Second place went to O'Shea with a better back nine and third place went to Agnew with a better back nine.

The Subsidiary Stableford was won by Tom Wiggins (25) with thirty nine points.

Results – Overall Winner – James Campbell (26) 43 pts – Overall Runner-up - Paul Steenson (13) 41 pts (BB6) – Division 1 – 1st. Fintan McLarnon (4) 41 pts – 2nd. Jordan Gaw (6) 39 pts – 3rd. Cameron Lappin (5) 38 pts (BB9) – Division 2 – 1st. James McClintock (13) 41 pts – 2nd. Ian McCully (12) 38 pts – 3rd. Thomas McNeill (10) 37 pts – Division 3 – 1st. Ian Stewart (17) 39 pts – 2nd. Ryan Wiggins (17) 38 pts – 3rd. Mark Wiggins (19) 36 pts (BB9) – Division 4 – 1st. Kevin Devlin (24) 40 pts – 2nd. James O'Shea (21) 39 pts (BB9) – 3rd. Damien Agnew (20) 39 pts (BB9) – Gross – Michael Reid (-4) 41 gr/pts – Seniors – James Logan (13) 40 pts – Subsidiary Competition – Tom Wiggins (25) 39 pts.